Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
CSAM Community Service Award
Share |

Community Service – An award established in 1985 previously referred to as the Achievement or Merit Award, overtime, became the community service award.

The Community Service award recognizes a non-physician who made outstanding contributions to the community. This CSAM award is presented based on merit and since 1985, it has been awarded to a wide variety legislators, activists, community leaders, etc., all with one thing in common: they have improved the lives of those suffering from the disease of addiction, and by doing so have contributed a valuable service to the community.

CSAM Community Service Award Recipients

  • 2018 Pauli Gray
  • 2017 Eliza Wheeler
  • 2016 April Rovero
  • 2015 Shannon Smith-Bernardin, PhD(c), RN, MSN, CLR
  • 2014 Assembly Member Tom Ammiano
  • 2013 Lawrence Neinstein, MD and Michele Kipke, PhD
  • 2012 Alice Gleghorn, PhD
  • 2011 Harriet Rosetto and Rabbi Mark Borovitz
  • 2010 Jerry Moe, M.A.
  • 2009 Assembly Member Jim Beall
  • 2008 Janis Thibault, MFT
  • 2007 Kristin Ochoa, MD
  • 2006 Wesley Chesbro
  • 2005 Ann Lindsay, MD
  • 2004 Gretchen Burns Bergman
  • 2003 Helen and Danny Leahy
  • 2002 Hon. John Burton
  • 2001 Father Terry Richie
  • 2000 No Award Given
  • 1999 Jack Sanow
  • 1998 Ruth King
  • 1997 Marty Jessup, RN, MS
  • 1996 Stanton Glantz, PhD
  • 1995 Lawrence Gentile
  • 1994 Reverend Cecil Williams
  • 1993 Gail Jara
  • 1992 Darryl Inaba, PharmD
  • 1991 No Award Given
  • 1990 Mrs. C. W. Roddy
  • 1989 Assemblyman Lloyd Connolly
  • 1989 Scott Newman Center
  • 1988 Tom and Katherine Pike
  • 1987 Betty Ford
  • 1986 Stephanie Brown, PhD
  • 1985 Joan Kroc

Pauli Gray

This year’s recipient, Pauli Gray, was selected for his out- standing work as a tireless harm reduction advocate over the past two decades. Pauli has assisted individuals with substance use disorders, thus reducing harm and aiding in recovery. As an educator and visionary, he demonstrated extraordinary and unrelenting determination as a “Harm Reduction Warrior.”

Mr. Gray conducts lectures and trainings in hepatitis C virus (HCV) counseling and treatment access, needle exchanges, harm reduction and Hepatitis C groups, trainings in overdose prevention and Narcan, and individual counseling. He was cured of HCV after 30+ years in 2015 and continues to fight for drug users, the disadvantaged and their communities. For years, he advocated for treating HCV in persons who inject drugs at the needle exchange’s harm reduction center, and this year he and a nurse practitioner succeeded in making it happen.

Pauli is visionary in his commitment to serving the com- munity of persons who inject drugs, and with this award, CSAM members thank him for his tireless and dedicated community service efforts.


2015 Community Service Award presented to
Shannon Smith-Bernardin, PhD(c), RN, MSN, CLR, by CSAM President Itai Danovitch, MD

2014 Community Service Award presented
to California State Assemblyman Tom 


2012 Community Service Award
presented to Alice Gleghorn, PhD


2013 Community Service Award presented to
Lawrence Neinstein and to Michele Kipke, PhD

2011 Community Service Award presented to
Rabbi Mark Borowitz and Harriet Rossetto
by CSAM President Jeffery Wilkins, MD