- Physician Locator
- Public Policy
|How to Meet the Continuing Medical Education (CME) Requirement for Physicians & Surgeons|
Most California-licensed physicians and surgeons must complete a one-time continuing medical education (CME) course in pain management and the treatment of terminally ill and dying patients. This course must also include the subject of the risks of addiction associated with the use of Schedule II drugs.* This 12-hour course requirement must be met within four years of an initial license being issued. This requirement does not apply to physicians practicing in pathology or radiology specialty areas.
As an alternative, physicians and surgeons can opt to complete a one-time mandatory 12-hour CME course on the treatment and management of opiate-dependent patients.** This CME option must include 8 hours of training in buprenorphine treatment or other similar medicinal treatment for opioid use disorders to take the place of the existing CME pain management requirement. Physicians who choose this alternative must complete the CME requirements by his or her next license renewal date after licensure.
To achieve the first 8 Hours:
MAT Waiver Training offered by the Provider Clinical Support System (PCSS) to assist physicians and physician assistants (PAs) who wish to apply for a waiver to prescribe buprenorphine for the treatment of opioid use disorders.
American Academy of Addiction Psychiatry (AAAP) designates this enduring material for a maximum of 8 (eight) AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.
This course is free to all. [Register]
Treatment of Opioid Use Disorder: Waiver Qualifying Online Course offered by the American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM).
ASAM designates this enduring material for a maximum of 8 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™. Physicians should claim only credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.
The online enduring material will provide the required 8 hours needed to obtain the waiver to prescribe buprenorphine in office-based treatment of opioid use disorders. Non-member price for the online module is $199 for physicians. Residents are free and there are other discounts available. [Register]
To achieve the remaining 4 hours required by the Medical Board of California
Select from any of the following topics offered by CSAM, each offering 1.0 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™.
Buprenorphine Formulations and Clinical Challenges in Prescribing Buprenorphine – this online course is 1-hour. It is free for ASAM/CSAM members; $25 for non-members.
Completing the MBC requirement:
Physicians who meet the definition of a “qualifying physician” as determined by the Board pursuant to 21 U.S.C. section 823(g)(2)(G)(ii) as read on January 1, 2018, shall be deemed to have met the requirements.
*Business and Professions Code 2190.5(a)(2) – effective January 1, 2019
**Business and Professions Code 2190.6(a) – effective January 1, 2019